Yearly Annual General Meeting and How FLHC Works

At the AGM the current chairperson will present the names of serving committee members who are willing to continue on the committee and invite other nominations from the floor, of persons who willing to serve on the committee. The new committee of 12 members will be subject to approval by the paid up membership.

Officerships on the  committee will be approved by the committee members at the first meeting of the new committee.

New members may be co-opted by the committee to complete the complement of twelve members.

A copy of the general rules and constitution of the club is available from the Hon. Secretary.

Full audited accounts will be presented by the Hon. Treasurer

The Hon Secretary will present a report on the year’s events.

Members will have an opportunity to make comments and recommendations

All recommendations will be considered by the incoming committee.


Membership of Committee 

Committee members are expected:

(1) To attend the monthly public and committee meetings of the club – but obviously no one can attend all meetings. At present the public meetings are on the third Tuesday of the month in Foxrock Pastoral Centre, while the committee meetings are on the second Tuesday, all during the winter season, in the same venue.

There are usually two short evening outings or field trips and one all-day outing

(2) To undertake to participate in the work of the committee.

It is not a requirement for a committee member to carry out research or to give lectures, although those who wish to do so will be encouraged and helped. The ‘short talks’ at the public meetings are intended as an opportunity for new lecturers to gain experience.

At the public meetings, the committee members set out the room, staff the door and the book table, run the meetings, serve the teas and clear up the hall afterwards.

Some members act as officers, or carry out other specified duties allocated on a yearly basis, like producing our booklets. Some undertake once-off jobs like responding to a request to talk to students in a school, or to meet foreign visitors whose ancestors originated in our area.

Each year we typically establish short-term sub-committees to organise outings or plan a years programme of lectures, or organise an event like our local history forum.

As regards length of commitment, it is hoped that members will stay until the next AGM when they may have the option to be nominated for a further year and also to express their preference for particular jobs on the new committee.

The full membership will vote to approve the new incoming committee.

The incoming committee elects its officers and allocates the various duties.


FOXROCK LOCAL HISTORY CLUB Committee Directory 2018
Name Address email address Note
Myles Reid
34 Clonkeen Drive, Foxrock, Dublin 18.
Chairman & Publishing
Michael O’Flaherty
29 Northumberland Ave , Dun Laoghaire

Declan Ryan
93 Mount Anville Wood, Dublin 14
Marie Therese Floyd
Linden, Kill Lane, Foxrock, Dublin, 18
Minutes  Secretary
Pádraig Laffan
92 Springhill Avenue, Blackrock, Co. D.
Vice Chair & Web
Martin McCarthy
26 Foxrock Avenue, Foxrock, Dublin, 18.
Membership Secretary
Francis Sheridan
30 Kerrymount Rise, Dublin, 18.
Úna Ó Callanáin
17 Clonkeen Drive, Foxrock, Dublin, 18.
Book Sales
Frank Woods
Moira Laffan

Norah Glynn